Accused of Shoplifting in New Jersey?

 

IS THERE A DEFENSE TO SHOPLIFTING?

No. Most Shoplifting charges (including Petty Theft and Grand Theft) are proven by evidence through the store video camera, loss prevention staff, security staff, or other witnesses.

The specific intent of the person who committed the crime does not need to be proven. In most instances, you cannot use mental illness, medication, drug or alcohol–related problems as an excuse for Shoplifting. If the case of Shoplifting is a factually weak one (for example, few witnesses), it is possible that these charges can be reduced to a trespass charge or dismissed altogether.

 

FACTS ABOUT SHOPLIFTING

 

  • Shoplifting is the number one property crime in America
  • 1 in 11 people shoplift
  • 25% of these shoplifters are children
  • Retailers lose over $20 billion worth of stolen goods each year
  • Shoplifters are vigorously prosecuted in New Jersey
Call (973) 376-1234 today for a free consultation!

ShopLifting · Petty Theft · Grand Theft · Penalties · Charges

SHOPLIFTING

By all definitions, Shoplifting is considered a crime and comes with penalties . Shoplifting is stealing something from a store. The legal term for Shoplifting is Petty Theft. You shoplift if you intend to take something that doesn't belong to you from a store without paying for it, and you do so, or try to. Shoplifting also includes switching labels on merchandise in order to get a better price for your purchases. All Shoplifting charges come with consequences.Those arrested for shoplifting in New Jersey face charges ranging from a disorderly persons offense up to an indictment for a second degree crime, and requires a lawyer in our judgment.

SHOPLIFTING IS PETTY THEFT

Generally referred to as Shoplifting, Petty theft is the unlawful taking of someone else's property with the intent to deprive the owner of the property permanently. Petty theft is usually charged as a misdemeanor if it is a first offense, and the value of the property stolen is valued between $50 and $400 . Petty theft can be punishable by a fine of up to $400 or by imprisonment in County jail for up to 6 months, or both. Petty Theft can be charged as a felony on your second offense under Penal Code section 666. A second conviction of Petty Theft can carry a maximum sentence of 16 months in state prison. Not all courts will charge a second Petty Theft as a felony. In fact, many courts do charge a second Petty Theft as a misdemeanor, depending on the value of the property taken and the time that has lapsed since the prior Petty Theft.

SHOPLIFTING CAN BE GRAND THEFT

Grand Theft is committed when the money, labor, real or personal property take is valued at more than $400 . Grand Theft can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony and is punishable by up to one year in county jail or 16 months in state prison. Depending on the value of the goods stolen, shoplifting can be considered either Petty Theft or Grand Theft.

CONTACT AN ATTORNEY WHO CAN HELP WITH SHOPLIFTING, PETTY THEFT, GRAND THEFT

If you are charged with Shoplifting , Petty Theft , or Grand Theft , you must speak to an experienced criminal defense lawyer. The Cook & Associates Law Firm can properly evaluate and analyze your Shoplifting case. Petty Theft and Grand Theft charges require the legal expertise and negotiating abilities of a skilled criminal defense attorney. In the event there is a conviction, an experienced attorney is your best chance to take advantage of jail alternatives such as counseling and probation. Our criminal defense attorneys will discuss your rights and possible defenses in order to have your Petty Theft or Grand Theft charges reduced or dismissed.

 

CONSULT WITH YOUR ATTORNEY BEFORE SPEAKING TO AUTHORITIES

The Cook & Associates Law Firm defends individuals who have been accused of Shoplifting (including Petty Theft and Grand Theft ) in New Jersey. Below are our contact information:

The Cook & Associates Law Firm
29 Essex Street
Millburn, New Jersey 07041
Telephone: (973) 376-1234
Email: Peter_Cook_esq@yahoo.com

The Cook & Associates Law Firm handles shoplifting cases in New Jersey including Essex County, Burgen County, Hudson County, Morris County, Passaic County, Somerset County, Union County, Warren County, Middlesex County, Somerset County, and Mercer County. Contact us today at (973) 376-1234 for a free consultation.

 

 

HOME PAGE | ABOUT US | CONTACT US | Frequently Asked Questions